Eleven Donna ISD schools were recognized by the Texas Education Agency (TEA)) for their exemplary work in achieving student success.

According to TEA’s 2018 state accountability ratings released recently, B.G. Guzman Elementary earned six distinction designations, the most an elementary school in the State of Texas can receive. In addition, B. G. Guzman was the only campus of all 14 elementary schools in the Donna school district that earned this honor.

“We are ecstatic,” Guzman Elementary Principal Emmy De La Garza said. “We have made significant gains thanks to a collaborative and strategic effort of our extraordinary teachers, hardworking staff, incredible students and awesome parents. While we celebrate this great accomplishment, we know that much more still needs to be done to continue achieving excellence.”

Students are required to take the STAAR’s test every year to assess their knowledge in seven areas: English Language/Reading, Math, Science, Social Studies, Academic Growth, Gap, and Post-Secondary.

De La Garza said her team is excited and ready for a new challenge this coming year.

“Closing the academic gap was our immediate focus. We will continue to implement pedagogical methodologies and best practices for greater and bigger academic results.”



The most distinctions secondary schools can receive in the State of Texas is seven. A.P. Solis Middle School earned six.

Commissioner of Education Mike Morath said many districts are accomplishing strong performances despite students facing high levels of poverty.

“We should all celebrate the outstanding work of these dedicated educators,” Commissioner Morath said. “Districts with high levels of poverty that attain this high level of performance, prove that poverty is not destiny. With strong instruction and curriculum, all students can succeed.”

Here is a break-down of DISD schools that received distinctions:

Two campus – B.G. Guzman Elementary and A.P. Solis Middle School received six distinctions each.

One school – W.A. Todd Middle School earned four distinctions.

One school – C. Stainke Elementary received three distinctions.

One school – Capt. D. Salinas earned two distinctions.

Six schools – Donna High School, Donna North High School, Dora M. Sauceda Middle School, J.W. Caceres, LeNoir Elementary, and Julian S. Adame received one distinction each.

Commissioner Morath noted earning any distinction is an honor. “Earning one or more campus distinctions is noteworthy and should be a source of pride in a community. Earning all possible distinctions is a significant accomplishment and should signal to parents that there is extraordinary work taking place on that campus.”