3 (1)With Donna North High School just over four years old, almost everything is a first and deserving of recognition.

Just recently, three members of the DNHS female soccer team made history when the trio decided to stick together and accept scholarships to play at the same community college. DNHS seniors Esmeralda Meza, Betzaida “Betsy” Zuniga and Dee Ann Campos each signed a Letter of Intent from Paris Junior College (PJC) in Paris, Texas. The seniors made it official before several classmates, administrators, coaches, friends and parents.

Meza and Zuniga, DHNS team co-captains and Campos, a four-year letterman will join the PJC Dragons women’s soccer team this coming fall. Meza and Campos will play defense while Zuniga will serve as forward.

1R3A2980“I feel really happy and amazed that all three of us are going,” Meza said. “I really thought just one of us or two of us would be going. I didn’t really think all of us would be going. I’m excited and looking forward to the experience and meeting new people.”

Zuniga is also excited. “I’m happy because I’m going with my teammates but I’m also nervous,” Zuniga said. “I know it’s going to be a challenge but I’m going to give it my all. Everything is possible if you work hard for it.”

Dee Ann Campos also said it brings her great comfort knowing her two teammates will be playing their favorite sport along-side her at PJC.

“I’m excited because I get to play with two of the girls who I was playing with during high school,” Campos said. “It was a hard season. We almost made it to the playoffs. But the three of us are dedicated to the sport of soccer and looking forward to being a part of a college team and learning new skills.”

Assistant Soccer Coach Laura Medrano said the girls worked well together and will be great together again in college. “I love the fact that the girls will be together,” Medrano said. “If they need something or are concerned about something, they will have each to turn to for support.”

