img_2796Daniel Trevino is a proud teacher at Donna High School. He hopes that his story that led to his new career will set an example for his children and others to never give up on their dreams.

Trevino’s journey began nine years ago. That’s when he enrolled at the local university and began his trek toward obtaining a college degree. At the time, he was working for the Donna Independent School District as a bus driver. He remembers the many times he had to juggle work, school and family time with his wife and four children.

“I started going to college part-time in 2008 and hitting it full-time in 2011,” Trevino said. “I worked full-time hours and I went to school full-time. I also tried to be with my kids as much as I could. I volunteered for every little event that they had. I never missed any of their games. I loved staying busy. It’s helped me accomplish a lot.”

Trevino credits his family for inspiring him to pursue a college degree. He remembers one conversation with his youngest son. “I asked him one day what colleges he was considering to go to,” Trevino said. “I brought up this conversation for many years since my children were very young. This time my son responded and asked me what college I attended. I had nothing to tell him so that’s when I knew I needed to go. I needed to do this.”

He eventually enrolled at The University of Texas-Pan American now UTRGV. He admits that there were many times he wanted to quit college but would snap out of it when he thought of his father who was battling cancer. “My dad was diagnosed with stage four cancer at the time I was going to school and I would see him fight for his life every day,” Trevino said. “He still fights to this day and regardless of his condition, he always has a smile on his face and is full of love. So I convinced myself that everything I was going through was not going to be a challenge for me. It was not going to be a problem.”

img_2804

Trevino began his job in mid-February teaching Social Studies, World Geography and World History at DHS. “It’s a totally different environment but the responsibility is about the same,” Trevino said. “When I was a bus driver, I dealt with students’ lives every day. It required a lot of multi-tasking. As a teacher I still deal with students’ lives, particularly their performance in class.”

Trevino thanks his former boss, Transportation Director Luis Solis, for supporting him while he pursued his college degree. His heart remains with the department. “I miss transportation and the personnel there,” Trevino said. “It was a second home to me. Mr. Solis helped me a lot through this whole process. I was under a lot of stress but I made it over here and I’m overjoyed.”

Solis said Trevino was a very dedicated hard worker who brought many ideas to the department. “He was very humble, eager and willing to participate in helping the department,” Solis said. “He showed me everything that he was capable of doing and I was wowed. Because of him I’ve implemented a lot of new ideas.”

Solis had mixed emotions when he heard that Trevino had received his degree and a new teaching job. “It was a good day and a bad day when he left,” Solis said.” It was a bad day because I’m going to miss him as a person and in our department because of all the skills that he brought to us. But it was a great day because he’s meeting his goals and making the life that he was planning for him and his family. I’m very proud of him.”

Trevino offers these words of advice to anyone thinking about giving up on their dreams. “Keep moving forward and fight for what you want. If you want something, go get it. If you work hard for it, you will eventually accomplish your goals.”

